Installment one of “TinkerbellShortcake”: Peach and Blueberry Greek Yogurt Cake

Dear Niki,

Today was one of those days I woke up early and felt that curling up in my blankets, daydreaming was the way to go. Do you have days like that? I always feel dissatisfied at the end of a day like that. Doing > imagining = fulfillment!

So I shook myself up and made this peach and blueberry Greek yogurt cake I found on Pinterest (of course). The recipe is from Julia’s Album.

I tend to follow new recipes as close to the letter as possible, but there are two exceptions with this attempt. I don’t (yet?) have a springform pan, so I used a sheet of PaperChef parchment paper in a 9″ diameter pan. The Balance offers some helpful alternatives for frugal recipe adaptations. Secondly, the Chobani Plain Greek Yogurt at HiLo (never forget) came in a 150g container so I used all of that, hoping the extra 7.5g wouldn’t ruin the cake. I lucked out!

As always, very excited with my ingredients. Here are my peaches and Sunbelle blueberries.

IMG_1674

After pouring out the batter and 20 minutes of baking, I had some concerns.

IMG_1685
Thicker than expected batter
IMG_1686
Just before baking
IMG_1688
After 20 minutes in the oven

And after 1 hour and 15 minutes…

IMG_1694.JPG
Ta daa

Here is my cake (left) next to Julia’s. Not too bad, right?

This was one of the simplest cake recipes I’ve tried or seen. If my Cuisinart mixer would stop shutting off every 15 seconds, my batter would have been ready in about 10 minutes. Total baking time rounds off at 1 hour and 15 minutes…pretty long, but worth it!

Though pleasant on its own, I would serve this with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. It’s not overly sweet, fairly light and with just 1 cup of sugar plus fruit, you don’t have to feel too bad about indulging in a slice or two. That’s always nice since we aren’t 16 anymore and we have to at least try to be health conscious.

My tips for when you’re back in Trinidad: Compared with HiLo, PriceSmart offered better quality peaches and cheaper blueberries; but you do have to give the blueberries a once over before purchasing because there were several crates with less-than-fresh berries mixed in.

Hope you’re doing well. Here’s your slice. Bon appétit! 

IMG_1699

 

Leave a Reply

