Installment three of “Tinkerbellshortcake”: Homemade Caramel Sauce

Dear Niki,

Despite my latest attempts (and some success) in the kitchen, I am no cook. There are things that I think I might never be brave enough or skilled enough to make. Anything involving heating sugar would be on that list. Until now!

This 5-ingredient 5-minute Homemade Caramel Sauce from Five Heart Home has changed everything!  I never thought I would be able to make caramel because I’m afraid of hot sugar, but this is the simplest, least-scary recipe for delicious caramel sauce. If I can do this, anyone can. Even you :p

I doubled the salt to 1/4tsp to give it a nice, salted caramel taste because both mom and I are salted caramel fans. We will probably be putting this on everything! I’m especially excited because mom’s birthday is coming up and I’m going to try to recreate Dairy Queen’s Turtle Blizzard, which she loves.

I’ll admit, I was a little nervous making this (hence no photos of the process), but it really was not difficult. The recipe warns of the caramel bubbling and advises using a larger pot, so I used a pretty big pot and I didn’t have any bubbling to talk about.

The nice thing about this is, there are no ingredients that might be a challenge to find at home.

I hope you try it and let me know how it turns out. À bientôt!

Leave a Reply

