Microwaved Potato Chips in 7 Minutes

Dear Niki,

I came across this recipe to make potato chips in the microwave at around 2:45am on this blog. I was excited to see how this would turn out. Can you imagine how convenient this would be when you really want a salty, crunchy snack but it’s some odd hour of the day or you’re just too lazy to go out??

I followed the instructions in the video, but I used Idaho potatoes, because that’s what I had on hand, and some “conscientious knife skills” instead of the mandolin.

img_0566
You can see the result of my knife “skills”
img_0567
A dash of cayenne

This makes me want a mandolin! But I wonder how much use I’d really get out of it…

These chips are so damn good! I used sea salt and black pepper with a dash of cayenne. They are crunchy, crispy, salty goodness. I am so excited about how this turned out!

Depending on how thin you cut the potatoes, they should take about 5-7 minutes. I recommend checking on them every 2-3 minutes. My first batch wasn’t quite ready at 5 minutes and were perfect after an extra 2 minutes; but I put my second batch on for 7 minutes and didn’t check on them until it was too late…burnt to a crisp and really awful tasting. So check them every couple minutes. No two potatoes are alike, I guess.

I imagine this could revolutionize some people’s diets since the potatoes are not fried, and you control the salt and the amount and type of oil used,  but most importantly:

  • you don’t have to heat up the oven
  • you don’t have to wash up (just toss the parchment paper)
  • you can make a small serving
  • it takes 5 minutes!

Happy snacking!

img_0570
Microwaved potato chips
3 thoughts on “Microwaved Potato Chips in 7 Minutes

Leave a Reply

