Almond Flour Brownies

Dear Niki,

Technically, this is an installment of TinkerbellShortcake, but I think simple titles may be…simpler. And simple is nice.

I have leftover almond flour since my macaron experiment. I don’t want it to go bad, so I checked out Pinterest for yummy-looking recipes using almond flour. I’ve also been craving chocolatey things recently, so I started out with brownies. I think chocolate is a good cover for things that aren’t too delicious. So if almond flour makes something less tasty, chocolate will cover that up. That’s my thinking anyway.

Here is the recipe I used from Recipe for Perfection. I looked around and I haven’t found any other recipes using three times as much cocoa as flour! Together with using almond flour, this had me a little skeptical, but I went ahead…in the name of science! Kinda.

In a rare display of unprofessionalism, my sous-chef (mom) licked the spatula and remarked, “Well the batter tastes good! It has that rich, chocolatey taste.”  So we knew going in that the batter was delicious, set the timer for 40 minutes and waited.

With 11 minutes to go, the kitchen and living room smelled heavenly! Nothing beats the smell of a chocolate something in the oven. At the 40 minute mark, the middle was still raw so I let it bake an extra 5 minutes. I tasted the crumbs on the skewer and Oh My Goodness! This thing is so good!!

I don’t have the words or writing skills to properly describe it at the moment. You will just have to try it for yourself. But whoever made this recipe, knew what they were doing when they used three times the cocoa.

It is a bit gooey even after 45 minutes so I let it sit in the warm oven for 5 minutes after baking. The recipe did say “fudgy” so I suppose some goo is to be expected. When next I make this, I’ll use maybe 2 tbsp less sugar, and 8 tbsp butter instead because 12 tbsp seems to be too much. So this is my first venture into flourless recipes, but it is not quite the healthy option I was going for when I did this post. I have yet to try substituting apple sauce for butter etc. Look out for that one!

I planned to compare this with another recipe I found, but I think this is it for me. Prep time doesn’t go much more than 15 minutes, cooking for 45 minutes gives you time to do something else, and then you have the most scrumptious brownies to devour while you watch your series du jour. 

Bon apétit! 

The most fudge-y, moist, chocolate-y, delicious almond flour brownies

 

3 thoughts on “Almond Flour Brownies

Leave a Reply

