Tie-Dye

Dear Niki,

I recently ruined a couple white tops in the wash. I shouldn’t say ruined them, because it’s actually that the water in the pipes was not clear and it left some brownish stains on my tops. Does this happen in first world countries? I doubt -_-

Since I am still unemployed, I’m trying to spend as little as possible on clothes and other “unnecessary” products. I decided to tie-dye the ruined clothes and a few other pieces, thus making myself band new clothes! A nifty trick, though I do say so myself.

There are soooo many tutorials on the internet showing different methods to tie and dye cloth. Some of the patterns, like the mandala, are so pretty! I didn’t have the patience or skill to get mandala, but I think my patterns turned out okay.

I also didn’t have the patience to leave the cloth in the dye for the recommended time (hours), so my colours aren’t too vibrant, but I think I prefer it this way. It was also hard to leave the stuff in the dye since I used buckets and I wanted to use at least two colours for each top. Most tutorials recommended using squeeze bottles so you can easily direct the dye where you want it and mix the colours.

Some worked out and two of them are fails, but since I couldn’t wear these in public anyway, I haven’t really lost anything.

Check them out!

DIY Tie-dye. Revamp your old t-shirts with easy DIY tie-dye
This Wiki-Wiki dye requires you to boil the cloth…I didn’t stick to the directions.
Revamp your old t-shirts with easy DIY tie-dye
Here are my four different tie styles. Let’s call them (from left moving clockwise) 1,2,3 and 4

 

DIY Tie-dye. Revamp your old t-shirts with easy DIY tie-dye
#1 = fail
DIY Tie-dye. Revamp your old t-shirts with easy DIY tie-dye
Was meant to be blue and red but the red got a bit carried away and the blue just looks messy
DIY Tie-dye. Revamp your old t-shirts with easy DIY tie-dye
#2 is an old jouvert t-shirt so the blue spot is paint from before. I like this gentle fade .
DIY Tie-dye. Revamp your old t-shirts with easy DIY tie-dye
#3 Is the “S-shape tie” and might be my favourite.
DIY Tie-dye. Revamp your old t-shirts with easy DIY tie-dye
#3 back view
DIY Tie-dye. Revamp your old t-shirts with easy DIY tie-dye
#4 = kind of a fail. I took it out of the dye too soon and it landed in some water so there is barely any colour there
DIY Tie-dye. Revamp your old t-shirts with easy DIY tie-dye
#6 escaped a before pic and I actually can’t remember how I tied this one…I did splash red dye on it though so that accounts for the red spots throughout.
IMG_1085
Here is #5 on Blue…so maybe not a total fail.
Leave a Reply

