Music Monday: @ Starbucks

Dear Niki,

I often find I really like the background music at restaurants. Have you ever discovered interesting, new music that way? I first noticed this at Haagen Daazs. They play a mix of Latin and jazz that I always enjoy.

I was at Starbucks with a friend recently and I couldn’t help but notice the ethereal and almost haunting sounds of “Beautiful Hell”. Take a listen here. Thanks to Shazam (and Starbucks), I found a new (to me) artist: Adna. Have you heard her before? Here is her Facebook page if you’d like to keep up with her goings on. I have to say, Starbucks definitely has Rituals beat when it comes to ambience and music.

I’ve been listening to Adna’s music and “Living”  and “Thoughts” are my favourites so far. It is cold and rainy as I write this and I find they make the perfect soundtrack for the day.

I’ve seen her style described as melancholic, haunting, pop-folk. If any of these adjectives pique your interest, I suggest you check out her stuff on YouTube. I think some of these would be great for a contemporary dance. They are certainly lovely on a cold, rainy day and will be going into my  aptly named “cold and rainy” playlist on YouTube.

Let me know what you think.

Happy listening!

One thought on “Music Monday: @ Starbucks

Leave a Reply

